Cancer Free!

This afternoon I received the news that I had been hoping for. My PET scan showed that I am cancer free! It was a difficult journey for sure, but is already becoming nothing more than a bad memory that I hope to soon forget about. I can’t really describe how relieved I am at this point, but I’m sure that you can probably imagine. I think I was sort of shell-shocked in the doctor’s office, as I felt emotionless after he told me. However, I can assure you that I was not without emotion.

At this point the primary focus shifts to putting my body back together and fixing all the little ailments. Today we doubled my diuretic dose to try to get rid of the extra fluid that my body doesn’t seem to want to part with. I also am trying to get my blood thinned to a safe level since I developed another blood clot in my right arm. It isn’t thinning as fast as is preferred at this point, but it was decided to hold the course for a bit longer and see what happens. I’m already taking 15 mg of Coumadin and the doctor hasn’t had a patient take 20 mg for quite some time. Hopefully things will straighten out pretty quickly and we will get things dialed in.

I’m back in the gym and starting to try to get back in some semblance of shape. I have about 50 pounds of extra weight that I gained while getting treatment (an unknown amount which is water). I have started walking/running and lifting weights. My diet is a work in progress as I try to get back to the vegetarian lifestyle that I had started prior to getting diagnosed with cancer. My strength is improving every day and that is what is most important.

For now this is about all I have to report. I will periodically post an update as things progress for me. My next CT scan is scheduled for late in February. Until then it will be full steam ahead! Thank you once again to EVERY SINGLE PERSON who kept me in their prayers, sent me messages or cards, called, stopped to visit, or simply thought of me as I worked to kick cancer’s ass! I couldn’t have done it without you.

10 thoughts on “Cancer Free!

  1. Kris & Bob Barteck says:

    WHEW HOO!!! Congratulations Rick! We are so grateful for answered prayers! You have been an inspiration to so many! Merry Christmas and be blessed in 2013!!!

  2. Crystal Sadler says:

    Great news!!! So happy for you and your family! This is so wonderful! Enjoy getting back to your old way of living my friend!!

  3. Valarie says:

    Rick, While reading this for some reason I cried so hard. They tears of Happy tears. I cannot express enough how happy this news is that you just reported. I knew you would kick Cancers Ass! Go full throttle and do all the things that Make you happy and be back where you once were before this journey. Every day you will remain in my thoughts my friend.
    Your Friends!
    Valarie and Barry of sweetlife

  4. Jenny says:

    Too full of emotion as I read this. I am so thankful to God for watching over you and giving you the strength to beat this. I will gladly put up with you for many, many more years to come!!(jk) Love you!!!

  5. Eldean Walling says:

    THANK GOD! Of course this is what all those prayers have been about and I, too, am grateful for your great, great news! Blessings to you, Rick! Eldean

  6. Nancy Jo says:

    That’s the best thing I’ve heard all year! Bravo! And Thank God!

  7. William D. & Karen M. Crawford says:

    Congrats on the great news and right in time for the Holiday Season. Lots to be thankful for. Best to you.

  8. Pat Ealy says:

    We are still giddy with the news! :-D

  9. You certainly did kick cancer’s ass-in my heart , through prayers and positive thought waves that you would kick ass! Love, thoughts and prayers continue! Welcome back to your old world!

  10. ootophoto says:

    woot, great news, but i have to say, i knew it :-) hey which gym? happy dancin for you!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

